







22nd ADYAR TIMES FIDE RATED OPEN CHESS TOURNAMENT-2024

Sponsored by *Adyar Times* (The Neighborhood Newspaper, Chennai–600020)

Organized by Tamil Nadu State Chess Association

1. AICF Approval No: 380384/TN/2024 & TNSCA Approval No: RO-01/TN/24-25

2. Venue: University Auditorium, JEPPIAAR UNIVERSITY, Jeppiaar Nagar,

SH 49A, Kamaraj Nagar, Semmancheri, Chennai – 600 117

Tournament Period: From 23rd to 26th August, 2024

23 rd August 2024	Friday	Technical Meeting	09.00 A.M.
		Inaugural Ceremony	09.30 A.M.
		Round 1	10.30 A.M.
		Round 2	3.30 P.M.
24 th August 2024	Saturday	Round 3	9.30 A.M.
		Round 4	2.30 P.M.
25 th August 2024	Sunday	Round 5	9.30 A.M.
		Round 6	2.30 P.M.
26 th August 2024		Round 7	9.00 A.M.
	Monday	Round 8	2.00 P.M.
		Closing Ceremony	6.30 P.M.

- **4. System of Play:** The latest FIDE Rules in force shall apply and the Swiss system will be followed. Total Eight rounds shall be played.
- **5. Time Control:** The rate of play shall be 90 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds per move from move number one.
- **6.Default Time:** 30 minutes. Any player who arrives at the chessboard after the default time shall lose the game.
- **7.Tie Break :** 1.Buchholz cut 1, 2.Buchholz, 3.S.B. 4. Direct encounter, 5. Greater no. of wins (incl. forfeit games)
- **8.Appeals Committee:** Before the commencement of the tournament, an appeals committee will be formed from the participants. The appeals committee's decision will be final and binding on all players concerned.
- **9. AICF Player's Registration:** All the participants must be registered with AICF as a player. AICF Player registration fee is Rs.300/- for the year 2024-2025. Players who are yet to renew their AICF Player registration can use the below link http://aicf.in/players/

For fresh AICF player registration please click http://aicf.in/online-player-registration/ For fresh AICF player registration, players are requested to keep their scanned passport size photograph and birth certificate and a valid email address (unique) not used by any other person/ player for AICF, ready before the registration process.

Note: Only passport size (less than 1MB) photographs in jpeg format should be uploaded. If a player is already registered with AICF he/she should produce proof for the same at the time of registering his/her entry.

10. TNSCA player registration is compulsory for all Tamil Nadu players. TNSCA player registration fee is Rs.150/- for the year 2024 – 2025. New entrants to the field of chess are informed that TNSCA players registration is mandatory and it should be done well before participating in any tournament. For renewing TNSCA player registration of existing players, please click https://registration.tamilchess.com/

For fresh TNSCA registration please click https://registration.tamilchess.com/new-register/

For fresh TNSCA registration, players are requested to keep their scanned passport size photograph and birth certificate and a valid email address ready before the registration process. Note: Only passport size (less than 1 MB) photographs in jpeg format should be uploaded.

- 11. Complete Silence is to be maintained within the campus.
- 12. The Campus should not be littered.
- 13. Smoking is strictly Prohibited inside the university campus.
- **14**. **Ban on Wrist Watches**: AICF has banned the wrist watches while playing in FIDE Rated events. Players are instructed not to wear wrist watches while playing.
- 15. Players should not possess any electronic device like Mobile Phones during the game

16.Entry Fee: Rs.1250/- per player.

GMs, WGMs, IMs, &WIMs: Free Rating with 2300 & Above: Free

Entry fee should be remitted by cheque or a bank draft favoring "TAMIL NADU STATE CHESS ASSOCIATION" payable at Chennai or by NEFT transfer to the following bank Account:

Account Name	Tamil Nadu State Chess Association	
Bank	Indian Bank	
A/C No	440756872	
Branch	Park Town Branch	
IFSC code	IDIB000P024	

Duly filled entry form should be sent to:

TAMIL NADU STATE CHESS ASSOCIATION

Hall No - 75, JN Stadium, Periamet, Chennai – 600003

Phone: 044 – 25384477 / 25366464

E-Mail: tmchesstmt@gmail.com
Website: www.tamilchess.com

Entries can also be paid online through:

1.www.chessentry.in

2.www.easypaychess.com

3.www.chessfee.com

4.www.signinchess.com

After paying the entry fee, please submit the details in the google form given in the following link

Gform link:

https://forms.gle/f6Bwgu8W68fGy37V8

Last Date of Entry: Tuesday, 20th August 2024, 5.00 p.m.

For more details please contact: S.PAUL AROKIA RAJ, IA & FI

Coordinator and Chief Arbiter of the Tournament

Mobile: +91 98404 58484

E-Mail: chesspaul64@gmail.com

17.Participants will have to make their own arrangements for accommodation.

18.Tournament Committee: The organizers will form a tournament committee for the smooth conduct of the tournament.

19. Protests: Protests if any, against the decision of the Chief Arbiter shall be made in writing with protest fee of Rs.500/- within 15 minutes of the completion of the game to the appeals committee. The protest fee will be refunded if the appeal is upheld.

20. Withdrawals: No participant will withdraw from the tournament without the permission of the Chief Arbiter.

21.Total Cash Prizes: Rs. 2.50 Lakhs

01. Rs. 35,000/- Plus Trophy	08. Rs. 6,000/-
02. Rs. 25,000/-	09. Rs. 5,000/-
03. Rs. 15,000/-	10. Rs. 4,000/-
04. Rs. 10,000/-	11 to 20 Rs. 3000/- each
05. Rs. 9,000/-	21 to 25 Rs. 2500/- each
06. Rs. 8,000/-	26 to 30 Rs 2000/- each
07. Rs. 7,000/-	31 to 40 Rs.1500/- each

Category Prize (Boys & Girls)

Best five performers in each of the following categories will be awarded with Attractive Trophy (eligible only if the player has produced copy of Date of Birth certificate at the time of registering the entry). However a player will be eligible for only one prize. The decision of the Tournament Committee will be the final on this.

Under 8 Born on or after 01.01.2016

Under 10 Born on or after 01.01.2014

Under 12 Born on or after 01.01.2012

Under 14 Born on or after 01.01.2010

Prizes under Rating Criteria:

1801 to 2000	1601 to 1800	1400 to 1600	Unrated
Rs.8000/-	1.Rs.7000/-	1.Rs.6000/-	1.Rs.4000/-
Rs.6000/-	2.Rs.5000/-	2.Rs.4000/-	2.Rs.3000/-
Rs.3500/-	3.Rs.3000/-	3.Rs.2500/-	3.Rs.2000/-

Best Women (Above 18 years): Rs. 1500/-Best Veteran (Above 60 years): Rs. 1500/-Best Physically Disabled: Rs. 1500/-In case of tie, cash prizes will not be shared.

22. Previous Champions

1	2001	IM B.T.Muralikrishnan	12	2012	IM Himanshu Sharma
2	2002	IM R.Balasubramaniam	13	2013	IM P.Saravana Krishnan
3	2003	GM R.B.Ramesh	14	2014	IM T.U.NavinKanna
4	2004	GM M.R.Venkatesh	15	2015	IM R.Balasubramaniam
5	2005	IM R.Balasubramaniam	16	2016	R Ashwath
6	2006	IM D.P.Singh	17	2017	H Balasubramaniam
7	2007	FM C.J. Arvind	18	2018	R.A.Pradeep Kumar
8	2008	IM S. Nitin	19	2019	IM R.Balasubramaniam
9	2009	IM D.P.Singh	20	2022	IM R.Balasubramaniam
10	2010	IM Ragul Sangma	21	2023	Hari Ganesh
11	2011	IM D.P.Singh	22	2024	It may by You !!