P Maheswaran of Sivakasi won the TP Textiles State level Chess tournament

P Maheswaran of Sivakasi working for Postal Services won the TP Textiles State level Chess tournament, held at Kamarajar Kalyana Mandapam, Rajapalayam on 29th and 30th August. He scored 8.5 points from nine games, the only draw coming against the second seeded former under 10 national champion Syed Anvar Shazuli of ICF in the final round. P Uma Maheswaran of Madurai, P Dharmaraj of Thoothudi, Syed Anvar and P Arun Kumar of Sivakasi Lions MHSS scored 7.5 points and were placed in that order, based on the tiebreaks.

TPT State Level Maheswaran

Prizes worth Rs.32100/- including prizes in the form of chess books for all categories were distributed by the sponsor and President of Virudhunagar District Chess Association and Rajapalayam Chess Club Sri. A. Gopalsamy. A total of 270 players participated in the event.

Final Ranking

Name Club Type Pts
1 Maheswaran P. Postal
2 Uma Maheswaran P Madurai
3 Dharmaraj P. Thoothukudi
4 Syed Anwar Shazuli ICF
5 Arun Kumar P Sivakasi U16
6 Rajasekaran P. Thoothukudi 7
7 Ravi Shankar A. Madurai 7
8 Robin Rajakanthan M Madurai 7
9 Selvamurugan B Madurai U16 7
10 Marimuthu K Sivakasi U16 7
11 Bharkavi S Nagercoil F16
12 Ruban Sanjay M VNR G U13
13 Natarajan M Madurai
14 Hariraj.K Virudhunagar
15 Kalidass C. Sivakasi
16 Gnanasabesan G Tirunelveli U13
17 Godson Merlin E Nagercoil U16
18 Murukaananth A Tirunelveli U16
19 Achuthan K Thoothukudi U13
20 Boopathi Raja N VNR A 6
21 Vigneshwar DP VNR U13 6
22 Saravanan G Sivakasi 6
23 Jaya Suriyah Ayyappan Nagercoil F13 6
24 Jaipriya K Thoothukudi F13 6
25 Suresh Kumar G Rajapalayam 6