National Team Chess Championships 2023 – day 4 report

National Team Chess Championships 2023

Airports Authority of India snatched the lead with nine match points from the favourites Petroleum Sports Promotion Board at the end of the fifth round of the National Team Chess Championship, organised by Coimbatore District Chess Association and Dr.Mahalingam College of Engineering & Technology at the college campus today. The credit goes to the young International Master GB Harshavardhan, who defeated Vaibhav Suri of PSPB. Along with PSPB, the A and B teams of Railway are on the second spot with eight match points each.

With three boards of the match ending in draws, Harshavrdhan tilted the result in favour of Airports Authority of India by his deserving win over GM Vaibhav Suri using his two pawns in a rook ending. The two former national champions GM Adhiban B of PSPB and GM Aravindh Chithambaram of AAI repeated their moves to settle for a draw in 27 moves. GM Karthikeyan Murali and GM Ganguly SS of PSPB also had to be satisfied with draws.

In the second match, the Railway A team had to split the points with the Tamil Nadu GMs team on all the four boards. Former national champion G Akash agreed for a draw with IM Vignesh NR in 30 moves required for accepting or offering a draw. A similar draw resulted in the game between Aronyak Ghosh of Railway and GM Iniyan P of TN. Having one extra pawn, GM Swapnil Dhopade tried for a win against GM ShyamSundar in a queen and pawn ending, but the latter defended correctly to force a draw.

The Railway B team rose to the second place, beating the Tamil Nadu C team by a 3 – 1 margin. Former national champion GM Deepan Chakravarthy suffered the second loss of the tournament at the hands of Senthil Maran of Tamil Nadu. On the lower boards, Telangana was embarrassed by Odisha team by 0 – 4 verdict.

Women – AAI – Maharashtra on board 1

In the women category, the hitherto leader Maharashtra was humbled by the AAI team with 4 – 0 whitewash. They jointly lead the table with the PSPB women team with seven match points each. The latter had a 3.5 – 0.5 victory over the Tamil Nadu A, with the only draw conceded by former national champion IM Soumya Swaminathan to M. Divyabharathi. The Telanagana women team shares the second place with the Maharashtra team, each having six match points.

Important Results of the Fifth Round (Open)

No. Team MP : Team MP Result
1 PSPB Men 8 lost to AAI 9
2 RSPB A 8 drew with Tamil Nadu B 7 2 2
3 Tamil Nadu C 6 lost to RSPB B 8 1 3
4 Bihar B 6 lost to Kerala B 7
5 Telangana 5 lost to Odisha A 7 0 4
6 Madhya Pradesh 7 beat Kerala A 5 3 1
7 Tamil Nadu A 4 lost to LIC 6 1 3
8 Tamil Nadu E 4 lost to Tamil Nadu D 6 1 3
9 Bihar A 4 lost to Haryana A 6 ½
10 BSNL 4 lost to Karnataka A 6 ½
11 Pondicherry 5 beat DASCB 2
12 Karnataka B 4 beat Andhra Pradesh A 2 4 0
13 SSCB 4 beat Himachal A 2 3 1
14 Andhra Pradesh B 4 beat Haryana B 2 4 0
15 Himachal C 0 lost to Himachal B 2 1 3


Women – Round 4

No. Team MP : Team MP Result
1 AAI 7 beat Maharashtra  A 6 4 0
2 Tamil Nadu  A 4 lost to PSPB 7 ½
3 Telangana 6 beat Odisha  A 4 4 0
4 Tamil Nadu  B 5 beat Tamil Nadu  C 3 4 0
5 Tamil Nadu  D 2 lost to Andhra Pradesh 4
6 Himachal  B 2 lost to Kerala 4 ½
7 Himachal  A 1 drew with Himachal  C 1 2 2