



# TP Textiles, Rajapalayam 3<sup>rd</sup> TN State Level Rapid Chess Tournament & State Level Chess Doubles Tournament

(TNSCA Approval No: CO-62/VNR/22-23 & CO-63/VNR/22-23)

Enjoy Chess -Doubles Clap, laugh during games and it is pure fun 26 – 27 November 2022 Organized by Rajapalayam Chess Club

Venue: Kamarajar Kalyana Mandapam, Railway Feeder Road Rajapalayam No time penalty for illegal moves – Yellow & Red cards (Doubles)

Entry fees - Rapid: Rs.200/-

Chess Doubles:Rs.150/- per team

Rs.500/- for the two partners playing in both tournaments (Rs.250/- each). They may pay Rs.250/- each separately but the name of the partner must be mentioned by both players in their mail.

# Total Prizes: Rs.36000

Prize Fund for Rapid Chess: Rs.25, 000/- & Doubles: Rs.11000/- (including trophies) — Cash: Rs.20000/- and 9000/- respectively

## Prizes in Rupees

Doubles				R	apid Chess		
1	2000	1	4000		9	700	
2	1800	2	3400		10	600	
3	1500	3	2500		11	500	Category Prizes for
4	1000	4	1800		12 - 13	400	U-09, U-12 & U-15
5	700	5	1500		14 - 17	300	- three in each category for
6	600	e	1200	Rapid Chess and two in Doubles.			
7	500	7	1000				
					For doubles, players of the team must be from the same		
8 - 10	300	8	800		category		

## **Schedule**

Rapid Chess						
Rd	Date	Time				
1	26.11.2022	09.30 AM				
2	26.11.2022	10.45 AM				
3	26.11.2022	12.00 PM				
4	26.11.2022	02.00 PM				
5	26.11.2022	03.15 PM				
6	26.11.2022	04.30 PM				
7	26.11.2022	05.45 PM				
8	27.11.2022	09.30 AM				

<b>Chess Doubles</b>						
Rd	Date	Time				
1	27.11.2022	10.30 AM				
2	27.11.2022	11.15 AM				
3	27.11.2022	12.00 noon				
4	27.11.2022	01.30 PM				
5	27.11.2022	02.15 PM				
6	27.11.2022	03.00 PM				
7	27.11.2022	03.45 PM				
PD	27.11.2022	04.45 PM				

Time Control: Rapid Chess: 15 min. + 10 sec./move Chess Doubles: 10 min. + 05 sec./move

Time Delay mode will be followed, instead of the regular Fischer increment. If the increment time of 10 or 5 seconds is not used completely for a move, the unused increment time will not be added to the main time. In Fischer mode, the clock time may be more than the main time (15 minutes in rapid here), if the players make the opening moves quickly. In time delay mode, the clock time will never be more then the main time.

No worry about the delay in starting the PD function, because of prolonged play due to rook & knight Vs rook or rook & pawn Vs rook endings.

Last Date for Entry: 22.11.2022.

**Default Time: 15 minutes for Rapid and 10 minutes for Doubles** 

No AICF, TNSCA and VDCA registration required

No accommodation will be provided.

**Rules & Regulations:** 

Time Control: 15 min. + 10 seconds per move for Rapid

Rounds: 8 for rapid & 7 for Doubles

Rapid rules will be followed. No three fold repetition claim is allowed. If the arbiter observes, he can declare five times repetition draw.

**Tie** –**break**: Buchholz Cut 1, Buchholz, Sonneborn Berger, Direct encounter, number of wins and number of wins with black. In case of tie, prizes will not be shared.

## All entries should be paid through signinchess.com/easypavchess.com/ chessfee.com only. No bank transfer is allowed.

#### For details:

M. Meyyappan (Rajapalayam) 94437 42996, M. Sundarrajan (Virudhunagar) 94870 51730,

AT Ganesh Pandi (Sivakasi) 98437 57767, R Inba Rajalingam (Sivakasi) 70106 56213,

81221 63268, NA Sahul Hameed (Aruppukottai) 98653 46553 P. Arumugam (Rajapalayam)

and P Ramar (Aruppukottai) 97887 27426

e-mail: vranantharam@gmail.com

SMS/Whattsapp/e-mail entries will not be accepted.

**Appeals Committee:** An Appeals Committee will be formed at the Manager's meeting. The decision of the appeals committee on all protests shall be final and binding.

**Protests:** Protests, if any against the decision of the arbiter shall be made in writing with a protest fee Rs.1000/- within 15 minutes of the incident. The protest fee is refundable only if the protest is upheld.

Withdrawals: A player may withdraw at any stage of the event, after informing Chief Arbiter in writing.

A. Gopalsamy President, VDCA & RCC M. Meyyappan Secretary, RCC

M. Sundar Rajan Secretary. VDCA

04563 - 222486

Lodges in Rajapalayam:

Anandha Lodge: 04563 – 203501

Nesam Grand: 04563 - 221310

Asoka Lodge:

Bombay Lodge: 04563 - 232905

### **Rules for Chess Doubles:**

Entry must be given as a pair of two players. The team name may be the two partners or any other name (like Madras Tigers). If a different name is registered, the names of two individual players must be enclosed. The name of the two players and the name of the team have to be sent to sivakasichessclub1@gmail.com after registering in the website.

- 1) Seeding will be according to the average rating of the two players. Unrated player = 1000
- 2) Player 1 of Team A will make the first move for his team (say e4) with white pieces
- 3) Player 1 of Team B will make the first move for his team with black pieces (say e5)
- 4) Player 2 of Team A will make the next move for his team, without consulting his partner

- 5) Thus, Player 1 will make the odd numbered moves and Player 2 will make even numbered moves for their teams (they make alternate moves).
- 6) Only player making the move must press the clock
- 7) A player must not inform his partner that he has forgotten to press the clock or that it is his turn to move
- 8) Team mates shall not speak with each other and shall not look at each other. They shall not make any sign to their team mate and shall not point the pieces with their hands.
- 9) For any such malpractice or illegal move or any irregularity as decided by the arbiter, a **yellow card** will be handed over to their team. For second such malpractice, they will be shown a **red card** and the team will lose the game.
- 10) Arbiter's decision is final and there is no appeal against the decision.

For any points you might not have understood clearly and which require clarification, please do not hesitate to call Mr. R. Anantharam (Mobile 94431 55852), e –mail: vranantharam@gmail.com

#### **Prize Winners of the Past**

Chess 960 (for reference)

- 1. 2009 Sivakasi Maheswarn P, Phoobalan P, Ganesh R (3 batches of Chess festival)
- 2. 2011 Rajapalayam (State Championship) IM Shyaamnikhil P ICF
- 3. 2014 Rajapalayam (State Championship) IA Ganesh Babu S, GKCA, Madurai
- 4. 2020 Rajapalayam (TP Textiles State level) Sa Kannan (Karaikudi)
- 5. 2022 Rajapalayam (TP Textiles State level Rapid) ???

#### **Chess Doubles (state level)**

- 1. 2009 Sivakasi Vigneshwaran N & Phoobalan P, Gireman JA & Ganesh R
- 2. 2011 Sivakasi IM Shyaamnikhil & Kunal M
- 3. 2014 Rajapalayam (TP Tex) Modhi Paar (Syed Anwar Shazuli & FM Maheswaran P)
- 4. 2017 Sivakasi Surendran N & Pradeep Kumar RA Viyugam B, Chennai
- 5. 2020 Rajapalayam (TP Tex) Modhi Paar (FM Maheswaran P & Sa Kannan)
- 6. 2022 Rajapalayam (TP Text) ???