







# 20<sup>th</sup> ADYAR TIMES FIDE RATED OPEN CHESS TOURNAMENT - 2022

Sponsored by Adyar Times
The Neighbourhood Newspaper, Chennai - 600 020

Organized by Tamil Nadu State Chess Association

- 1. AICF Approval No: 296408/TN/2002 & TNSCA Approval No: RO 03/TN/22-23
- Venue: VIDYA PEET Auditorium, Bala Vidya Mandir Senior Secondary School (Affilited to the Central Board of Secondary Education, New Delhi)
   B.Ramachandra Adithanar Road, Gandhi Nagar, Adyar, Chennai-600 020.

MRTS Railway Station: Kotturpuram

Bus Stop: Madhya Kailash and Fortis Malar Hospital

# 3. Tournament Schedule: From 29<sup>th</sup> September to 2<sup>nd</sup> October, 2022

	Thursday	Inauguration	09:00 am
29 <sup>th</sup> September		Players Meeting	09:30 am
		Round - 1	10:30 am
		Round - 2	03:30 pm
30 <sup>th</sup> September	Friday	Round - 3	09:30 am
		Round - 4	03:30 pm
1 <sup>st</sup> October	Saturday	Round - 5	09:30 am
		Round - 6	03:30 pm
2 <sup>nd</sup> October	Sunday	Round - 7	09:00 am
		Round - 8	02:30 pm
		Closing Ceremony	06:30 pm

- 4. **System of Play:** The latest FIDE Rules in force shall apply and the Swiss system will be followed. Total Eight rounds shall be played
- 5. **Time Control:** The rate of play shall be 90 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds per move from move number one.
- 6. **Default Time:** 15 minutes. Any player who arrives at the chessboard after the default time shall lose the game.
- 7. **Tie Break:** 1.Buchholz cut 1, 2.Buchholz,3.Sonneborn Berger Score, 4.Greater number of wins (including forfeit games) 5.Greater number of wins with black pieces.

- 8. **Appeals Committee**: Before the commencement of the tournament, an appeals committee will be formed from the senior participants present at the players meeting. The appeals committee's decision will be final and binding on all players concerned.
- 9. **AICF Player's Registration:** All the participants must be registered with AICF as a player. AICF player registration fee is Rs.250/- for the year 2022-2023. Players who are yet to renew their AICF player registration can use the below link http://aicf.in/players/

For fresh AICF player registration please click http://aicf.in/online-player-registration/ For fresh AICF players registration, players are requested to keep their scaned passport size photograph and birth certificate and a valid email address (unique) not used by any other person/ player for AICF, ready before the registration process.

Note: Only passport siz (less than 1mb) photographs in jpeg format should be uploaded. If a player is already registered with AICF he/she should produce proof for the same at the time of registering his/her entry.

- 10. Complete Silence is to be maintained within the campus.
- 11. The Campus should not be littered.
- 12. Smoking is strictly Prohibited inside the school campus.
- 13. Ban on Wrist Watches: AICF has banned the wrist watches while playing in FIDE Rated events. Players are instructed not to wear wrist watches while playing.
- Players should not possess any electronic device like Mobile Phones during the game
- 15. Entry Fee: Rs.1250/- per player. GMs, WGMs, IMs and WIMs Free. Rating with 2300 & Above: Free.
- 16. Entry fee should be remitted by cheque or a bank draft favouring "TAMIL NADU STATE CHESS ASSOCIATION" payable at Chennai or by NEFT transfer to the following bank account.

Account Name	Tamil Nadu State Chess Assocaition
Bank	Indian Bank
A/C No.	440756872
Branch	Park Town Branch
IFSC Code	IDIB000P024

Duly filled entry form should be sent to: TAMIL NADU STATE CHESS ASSOCIATION, Hall No - 75, JN Stadium, Periamet, Chennai - 600003. Phone: 044 - 25384477 / 25366464, E-Mail: tnchesstmt@gmail.com, Website: WWW.tamilchess.com

## Entries can also be paid online through:

1. www.easypaychess.com 2. www.chessfee.com 3.www.signinchess.com 4. www.chezzcircle.com

After paying the entry fee, please submit the details in the google form given in the following link

Gform link: https://forms.gle/xgsgu12HTnwn72Hk8

For more details please contact: S.PAUL AROKIA RAJ, IA & FI

Coordinator and Chief Arbiter of the Tournament

Mobile: 98404 58484

E-Mail: chesspaul64@gmail.com

- 17. Participants will have to make their own arrangements for accommodation
- 18. Tournament Committee: The organizers will form a tournament committee for the smooth conduct of the tournament.
- 19. Protests: Protests if any, against the decision of the Chief Arbiter shall be made in writing with protest fee of Rs.500/- within 15 minutes of the completion of the game to the appeals committee. The protest fee will be refunded if the appeal is upheld.
- 20. Withdrawals: No participant will withdraw from the tournament without the permission of the Chief Arbiter.

# 21. Total Cash Prizes: Rs.2.50 Lakhs 01. Rs.35,000/- plus Trophy

2. Rs. 25,000/-	9. Rs. 5,000/-
3. Rs. 15,000/-	10. Rs. 4,000/-
4. Rs. 10,000/-	11 <sup>th</sup> to 20 <sup>th</sup> Rs. 3,000/- each
5. Rs. 9,000/-	21 <sup>st</sup> to 25 <sup>th</sup> Rs. 2,500/- each
6. Rs. 8,000/-	26 <sup>th</sup> to 30 <sup>th</sup> Rs. 2,000/- each
7. Rs. 7,000/-	31 <sup>st</sup> to 40 <sup>th</sup> Rs. 1,500/- each
8. Rs. 6,000/-	the following Rating categories

1601 to 1800	1401 to 1600	1201 to 1400	1000 to 1200	Unrated
1. Rs. 7,000/-	1. Rs.6,000/-	1.Rs.5,000/-	1.Rs.4,000/-	1.Rs.3,000/-
2. Rs. 5,000/-	2. Rs.4,000/-	2.Rs.3,000/-	2.Rs.3,000/-	2.Rs.2,500/-
3. Rs. 3,000/-	3. Rs.2,500/-	3.Rs.2,000/-	3.Rs.2,000/-	3.Rs.2,000/-

#### Children Category Eligibility

Best Veteran (Above 60 years) Rs.1,500/-Best Physically Challenged Rs.1,500/-

Best Woman (Above 18 years) Rs.1,500/- Under 08 Born on or after 01-01-2014 Under 10 Born on or after 01-01-2012 Under 12 Born on or after 01-01-2010 Under 14 Born on or after 01-01-2008

## In case of tie, cash prizes will not be shared 10% of FIRST prize will be deducted as TDS as per income Tax Act.

Top three players in each of the above categories for Boys & Girls will be awarded with Attractive Trophies (eligible only if the player has produced copy of **Date of Birth Certificate** at the time of registering the entry). However a player will be eligible for only one prize. The decision of the **Tournament Committee** will be the final on this.

### **ADYAR TIMES FORMER CHAMPIONS**

1.	2001	IM	B.T.Muralikrishnan
2.	2002	IM	R.Balasubramaniam
3.	2003	GM	R.B.Ramesh
4.	2004	GM	M.R.Venkatesh
5.	2005	IM	R.Balasubramaniam
6.	2006	IM	D.P.Singh
7.	2007	FM	C.J.Aravind
8.	2008	IM	S.Nitin
9.	2009	IM	D.P.Singh
10.	2010	IM	Ragul Sangma
11.	2011	IM	D.P.Singh
12.	2012	IM	Himanshu Sharma
13.	2013	IM	P.Saravana Krishnan
14.	2014	IM	T.U.Navin Kanna
15.	2015	IM	R.Balasubramaniam
16.	2016		R.Aswath
17.	2017		H.Balasubramaniam
18.	2018		R.A.Pradeep Kumar
19.	2019	IM	R.Balasubramaniam

2022 - Who? - it can be you also!