Vijayalakshmi wins National Women Challengers title

International Master Vijayalakshmi Subbaraman (Air India) with 9.0 points emerged the Champion after the 11th round of the 43rd National Women Challengers Chess Championship 2016 at Nehru Stadium, Chennai here today. Viji who remained undefeated, with seven wins and four draws, takes home the winner’s purse of Rs. 72000.


Woman International Master Michelle Catherina P (Air India) took the Runner-up spot with 8.5 points along with cash award of Rs. 52800. Chennai girl WIM Mahalakshmi M took the third spot with better tie-break, plus a cash prize of Rs 38400. The top eight finishers qualify for the National Women Premier Chess Championship to be held later this year.
Cash prizes totaling Rs 300000 (Rupees Three lakhs only) were awarded to the top 20 finishers by Shri Bharat Singh Chauhan, Deputy President, Asian Chess Federation & CEO, All India Chess Federation. Present in the dais were Shri D V Sundar, Vice President, FIDE, Shri V Hariharan, Gen. Secretary, Tamil Nadu State Chess Association, Shri Sekhar Sahu, Vice President, AICF, Shri Atul Kumar, Joint Secretary, AICF and Shri B Murugavel, Vice President, Tamil Nadu State Chess Association.
Final Standings : 1 Vijayalakshmi S (Air India) 9.0, 2 Michelle Catherina P (Air India) 8.5, 3-7 Mahalakshmi M (TN), Swati Ghate (LIC), Soumya Swaminathan, Karavade Eesha (both PSPB), Vaishali R (TN) 8.0, 8-10 Bala Kannamma P (TN), Pratyusha Bodda (AP), Mohota Nisha (PSPB) 7.5 points