Thamaraiselvi P of Chennai becomes the champion of 47th TN State Women Chess Championship

ONGC 47th TN State Women Chess Championship was jointly organized by Tiruvarur District Chess Association and ONGC Karaikkal at Thirumathi Rasammal Thirumana Arangam, Tiruvarur from 2nd to 6th January, 2019.  This championship was a nine round Swiss tournament attracted 118 players from 19 districts. It was inaugurated by Rtn. PDG N. Govindaraj, district governor 2009-2010 Rotary district 2980 on 2nd January at 9.30 am.

Inaugural by chief guest in the inaugural ceremony

Seeded players sailed smoothly up to 3 rounds. At the end of the 4th round WFM Saranya J of Chennai drew with Harivardhini I of Thiruvallur in 40 moves. Top seeded WCM Jythosna L of Cuddalore, Bharkavi S of Kanyakumari, Saranya Y of Thiruvallur, Chennai Players Balakannamma P and Rindhiya V shared the lead with full points.


5th Round of ONGC 47th TN State Women Chess Championship was inaugurated by Rotary District Chairman Rtn S.Ravichandran (center) along with irganiser and chief arbiter and deputy chief

L.Jyothsna (Cuddalore) with white pieces and Rindhiya V  (Chennai) with black pieces are on the 1st table.

Y.Saranya (Thiruvallur), P.Balakannamma (Chennai) and L.Jyothsna (Cuddlaore) played with 5 points each in 6th round. On the top table Saranya lost to Balakannama and on the 2nd table I.Harivardhini(Thiruvallur) split the point with  L.Jyothsna. At the end of this round Balakannama P of Chennai was the sole leader with a perfect score. Jyothsna snatched a point from Balakannamma in the next round and took the sole lead with 6.5points. Y.Saranya of Thiruvallur, Chennai sisters Bala and Thamarai followed the leader with 6 points each.

In the penultimate round the younger sister Thamarai Selvi played with white pieces and shocked her elder sister in 31 moves. The game between Jyothsna L and Saranya Y ended in a draw.  Jyothsna and Thamaraiselvi were the leaders with 7 points each.

playing venue

In the clash between the 1st and 8th seed Jyothsna drew with Thamaraiselvi and tied for the title with 7.5 points each. Thamaraiselvi of Chennai had a better tie break to be declared as the champion of ONGC 47th TN Women state Chess Championship. Jyothsna L of Cuddalore is the runner-up of this championship. Balakannamma, Saranya J,Saranya Y and Genita Gladys A are in 3rd to 6th place respectively with 7 points each.

The Champion Thamaraiselvi P of Chennai receives the trophy from Sri.D.V.Sundar, Vice president of FIDE

top 4 players with the chief guest and other dignitaries