Sanjay Narayanan & Charudharshini emerge TN State Under 10 Open & Girls Champions

Sanjay Narayanan & Charudharshini emerge TN State Under 10 Open & Girls Champions

Sanjay Narayanan (Chennai) & Charudharshini (Madurai) emerged as Champions in the 34th Tamil Nadu State Under 10 Open & Girls Chess Championship 2022 held at Santhanam Vidhyalaya (CBSE) Senior Secondary School, Trichy. The winners received the trophy and cash prizes from Chief Guest Grandmaster and Dhyan Chand Awardee Abhijit Kunte in a grand ceremony that concluded on Sunday 27th February, 2022. Other guests present on the dais were Shri K Chandrasekaran, CEO, Santhanam Vidhyayala and Smt S Aparna, Director, Santhanam Vidhyalaya. This nine rounds swiss system champion went for four day that started on 24th February, 2022 attracting 143 entries in the Open section and 59 entries in the Girls section.

With a cent percent 9/9 score Madurai based Charudharshini  swept to the title in the Girls section. Tanusri S (Chengalpattu) 8.0 pts and Pooja Shree R (Chennai) 7.0 points took the second and third spot for their consistent show.

With two draws and seven wins second seeded Sanjay Narayanan P S (Chennai) won the TN State Under 10 Open titles scoring 8.0 points from nine rounds. Aadhya V (7.5) took the runner-up spot half a point behind Sanjay. Sharing the third place with 7.0 points were Pranav Sai Ram R S, Sai Abhinav Kuchibhotla, Tanish Ragavan S and Gokul Ramesh respectively. Top seed Aarav A (Elo 1269) shared the seventh place with 6.5 points. Open section consisted of 22 FIDE rated players, while Charudharshini was the lone FIDE rated player in the girls section.

Cash prizes to the tune of Rs 24,000/- were distributed to the top ten finishers in the Open and Girls Section. Santhanam Vidhyalaya offered excellent support – food, lodging, transport, comfortable playing halls, class rooms for parents waiting hall.

Final Placings : (Open) 1 Sanjay Narayanan P S (Chennai) 8.0, 2 Aadhya V (Madurai) 7.5, 3-6 Pranav Sai Ram R S (Thiruvallur), Sai Abhinav Kuchibhotla (Chengalpattu), Tanish Ragavan S, Gokul Ramesh (both Chennai) 7.0, 7-10 Aarav A, Parithi Narayan S I, Nehanraj Ramesh (all Chennai), Pranav Dharshan S (Coimbatore) 6.5 pts

(Girls) 1 Charudharshini R (Madurai) 9.0, 2 Tanusri S (Chengalpattu) 8.0, 3 Pooja Shree R (Chennai) 7.0, 4-6 Sruthi U (Coimbatore), Srinika S (Chengalpattu), Umauthra M (Salem) 6.5, 7-10 Ayushi Dinesh (Chennai), Sharvaanica A S (Ariyalur), Shifa S, Pavithra R V (both Trichy) 6.0 pts.