KKCA 2nd All India FIDE Rated Chess Tournament (Below 1600)

S Kathiravan of Tamil Nadu won the KKCA 2nd All India FIDE Rated Chess Tournament Below 1600 organized by Kovai Kids Chess Academy. The 3 day event was held from 29th to 31st December at B.M.N Kalyana Mandabam, Coimbatore.

The Prize fund of Rs.2,99,000 was split into 20 Main Prizes, 43 Special Cash Prizes in various rating categories & 60 Trophies for age categories. The winner gets Rs. 30, 000 and a glittering trophy. The Event attracted 402 players from 8 states and 2 Union Territories out of which 201 players were internationally rated players and 292 players were in the age group of Under-15. In the first two rounds top seed players sailed smoothly. Top seed Rahul Krishnan of Tamil Nadu lost to Prabeesh of Kerala, while the 3rd seeded player Shanmugasundaram of was defeated by Soundariya Lakshmi in the 3rd round. 11 players were leading the tournament at the end of 4th round.

Senthil Kumar and Kathiravan of Tamil Nadu jointly lead the tournament with 6.0 points in the 6th round. The clash between the leaders ended in favour of Kathiravan who emerged as sole leader at the end of 7th round. Hridik Rajendran of Tamil Nadu was in the second spot defeated Kathiravan in the 8th rounds to take the sole lead with 7.5 points. Hridik held to a draw by Mohamed Yousuff on the top board. Hridik & Thanga Manickam tied for the 1st place with Kathiravan who won the final round game against Sriram with 8.0 points each. Kathiravan won the tournament with a better tiebreak score with a cash award of Rs.30,000 and a glittering trophy.

Prizes were distributed by Mr. Krishnamurthy President,KKCA. Dignitaries present on the dais Mr. V Vijayaraghavan, Seretary, CDCA. Mr. Santhosh, MD, BMN Kalyana Mandabam, Mrs.Jayalaksmi, Mrs.Vinodhini Santhosh, Mr.Mohamed Yousuff, Joint Secretary, CDCA, Ms.Vidya, Secretary, KKCA. Mr. Krishnamurthy President, KKCA delivered the vote of thanks.


KKCA 2nd All India FIDE Rated below 1600 Chess Tournament

Main Prizes

Rank Player Name Club Points
1 Kathiravan S TN 8
2 Hiridik Rajendran TN 8
3 Thanga Manickam M TN-CBE 8
4 Ranjith Kalaiyarasan PUD
5 Senthil Kumar E TN
6 Mohamed Yousuff A TN-CBE
7 Dharshan Venkatachalam TN
8 Tejaswi R TN-CBE
9 Lakshmi Raja Perumal K TN-CBE 7
10 Sriram K TN 7
11 Arnav Agrawal KAR 7
12 Muralishankar J T TN-CBE 7
13 Yuvaraju K TN 7
14 Harsha R TN-CBE 7
15 Jagan V TN
16 Kaushik G Iyer KAR
17 Chinnadurai S. TN
18 Vinoth Kumar M TN
19 Shanmugasundaram G. TN
20 John Christopher TN-CBE