GM Aravindh Chithambaram wins National Rapid & Blitz Chess Championship 2019

National Rapid & Blitz Chess Championship-2019 was organized by Jalandhar Chess Association under the aegis of Punjab State Chess Association & All India Chess Federation. It was held from 25 to 27 May at Lovely Professional University, Jalandhar.

More than 100  players from across 23 states competed for the coveted titles.  Participants included 7 Grand Masters; 3 Woman Grand Masters; 11 International Master; 1 Woman International Master; 6 FIDE Masters. In both Rapid and Blitz competitions of the event, 11 rounds for each were played.

GM Aravindh Chithambaram became the first Indian player to hold national titles in all three formats simultaneously. Aravindh- the reigning National Open Senior Champion (in Classical format)- scored 10.5 points from 11 rounds to clinch the Rapid title. Followed by an impressive score of 10/11 points to clinch the Blitz championship.

GM Visakh N R

GM Visakh NR with 9 points, GM Laxman RR with remained at second, and third in Rapid respectively. Similarly, in Blitz, GM R.R.Laxman stood second while WGM Bhakti Kulkarni bagged third place. The reigning National Women’s Champion Bhakti (Classical format) defeated India’s latest GM Swayams Mishra, IM Rahul Shetty, WGM Meenakshi, WGM Swati Ghate before drawing with champion Aravindh in the final round of Blitz Championship.


L to R: GM Laxman, GM Visakh, GMAravindh

Rapid – Top ten

Rk. Name sex FED RtgI Club/City Pts.
1 GM Aravindh Chithambaram Vr. IND 2478 Tn 10.5
2 GM Visakh N R IND 2268 Tn 9
3 GM Laxman R.R. IND 2429 Rspb 8
a FM Mehar Chinna Reddy C.H. IND 2274 Ap 8
5 IM Swayams Mishra IND 2475 Ai 8
6 IM Krishna C R G IND 2395 Rspb 8
7 IM Sharma Dinesh K. IND 2433 Lic 8
8 WGM Kulkarni Bhakti w IND 2318 Ai 8
9 GM Neelotpal Das IND 2312 Pspb 7.5
10 IM Saravana Krishnan P. IND 2327 Tn 7.5

Blitz – Top ten

Rk. Name sex FED RtgI Club/City Pts.
1 GM Aravindh Chithambaram Vr. IND 2532 Tn 10
2 GM Laxman R.R. IND 2463 Rspb 9
3 WGM Kulkarni Bhakti w IND 2320 Ai 8
4 GM Visakh N R IND 2310 Tn 8
5 GM Neelotpal Das IND 2408 Pspb 8
6 IM Ravi Teja S. IND 2391 Ap 8
7 FM Gahan M G IND 2254 Kar 8
8 Soham Kamotra IND 2136 J&k 8
9 IM Sharma Dinesh K. IND 2393 Lic 8
10 IM Rathnakaran K. IND 2408 Rspb 7.5