Defending Champion IM Pranav V retains Tamil Nadu State Open Chess Championship title

Defending Champion IM Pranav of Chennai wins the 69th Tamil Nadu State Open Chess Championship 2022

69th Tamil Nadu State Open FIDE Rated Chess Championship 2022 was organized by Tirunelveli District Chess Development Association at Einstein Engineering College, Tirunelveli from 18th to 21st February 2022.

The Championship was inaugurated by the Chief Guests of the function Shri Amuthavanan, Chairman, Einstein College and Sri. Mathivanan, Managing Trustee of the College. This championship attracted 300 hundred players, including the defending Champion V Pranav International Master and other International Masters like A Ra Harikrishnan and International Master R Balasubramaniam.

Seeded players sailed smoothly into the second round, except Prasanna S of Tiruvallur, the seventh seed, who suffered a humiliating defeat at the hands of M Dhanajeyan of Virudhunagar, rated one thousand points below him. Pranav V of Chennai won the title with record of winning all the eight opponents he faced. The second seeded International Master A Ra Harikrishnan of Chennai stood second with seven points. Seven more players, including  Mohamed Anees M of Krishnagiri, Tarun V of Salem and Arnav Maheshwari of Tiruvallur also scored seven points each and finished third to fifth respectively.

Shri M Ramachandran, President of Tirunelveli District Development Chess Association and a retired Judge presided over the prize distribution function. Smt. Hemalatha, Assistant Conservator of Forests, Tirunelveli distributed the prizes in the august presence of Shri Mathivanan, Managing Trustee, Einstein College of Engineering. The Championship was very well organized by Tirunelveli District Chess Development Association on behalf of Tamil Nadu State Chess Association.

Top 10 Rankers:

Rank Titte Name Rtg Club Pts
1 IM Pranav V 2486 CHE 8
2 IM Harikrishnan.A.Ra 2429 CHE 7
3 FM Mohamed Anees M 2238 KGI 7
4 Tarun V 1694 SLM 7
5 Arnav Maheshwari 1934 TLR 7
6 Ilamparthi A R 1969 CGP
7 IM Ramnathan Balasubramaniam 2141 CGP
8 AGM Sa Kannan 1930 SVG
9 Anup Shankar R 1862 TRY
10 FM Senthil Maran K 2208 TLR 6