54th National Challengers Chess Championship 2016 at Amity University, Noida, U P

Round 10 Standing

Ravi Teja  stuns GM Sriram Jah and maintained  sole  lead

 International Master Ravi Teja of RSPB is  maintained  lead with 8½  points  after the 10th round of the 54th National Challengers Chess Championship 2016 at Amity University Noida  here today.

Following the leader  one  point behind  at  seven and a half  points were  Grandmaster Sunilduth Lyna Narayanan of Kerala,Grandmaster  R R Laxman of RSPB  and Sahoo Utkal Ranjan of Odisha. Six of the top nine boards ended in a draw.  Series of draws among the top board players helped Grandmaster R R Laxman of PSPB and Sahoo Utkal Ranjan of Odisha cut down the lead deficit with crucial wins. Three more rounds remains to  be played in this 167 players event, which concludes on Tuesday 19th  July, 2016.

In top board 47 moves encounter Grandmaster Sriram Jah  gave a piece for three pawns in the middle game and created two passed pawn with  International Master Ravi Teja of PSPB. But Ravi has no difficulties to pocket the point on 47th move using his piece advantage.

Sahoo Utkal Ranjan of Odish won a pawn in Fianchetto Kings Indian defence  with  International Master Nitin of RSPB. Sahoo gave up the exchange and got back with a pawn up. Nitin  resigned as he was unable to avoid the second pawn loss.

Round 10 – results

Sriram Jah(7) lost to Ravi Teja(8½), Bakre Tejas(7) drew with Sunilduth Lyna Narayanan(7½),Mishra Neeraj-Kumar(7) drew with Kunte Abhijit(7), Kulkarni Vikramaditya(7) drew with Gusain Himal(7), Dhulipalla Bala Chandra Prasad(7) drew with Praneeth Surya (7), Sahoo Utkal Ranjan(7½) bt Nitin(6½), Laxman(7½) bt Thanki Hemal Karsanji(6½), Abhishek Kelkar(7) drew with Gomes Mary Ann(7), Rajesh(7) drew with Sidhant Mohapatra(7)