46th Tamil Nadu State OPEN FIDE Rated and 31st Tamil Nadu State Girls (Under 19) FIDE Rated Chess Championship

Jayakumaar and Priyanka becomes Tamil Nadu State Junior Open & JUnior Girls Chess Champions.

S.Jayakumaar of Chennai and K.Priyanka of Coimbatore emerged as TN State Junior Open(19) and Junior Girls (19) Chess champion at the end of final round in the 46th Tamil Nadu State OPEN  FIDE Rated and 31st Tamil Nadu State Girls (Under 19) FIDE Rated Chess Championship held at EGS Pillai Engineering College, Nagapattinam from Apr 28th to May 2nd 2017.

This event attracted, overall 130 players from various districts of Tamil Nadu. Out of them 82 boy contested in open and 48 girl contested in girls category. Earlier Grand Master B. Adhiban inaugurated the opening ceremony and gave encouraging word to players . Mr Parmeswaran Chairman of EGS Pillai institution presided over the function  Mr Akilan.SP, Secretrary NDCA welcomed the Gathering, Mr Govinda Rajalu, President NDCA gave felicitation address Mr Kannan RTO and Mr Siva District Sports Officer was the Chief Guest . Mr Arun Kumar, Treasurer NDCA gave away the vote of thanks. Mr R K Balagunashekaran TNSCA Joint Secretary participated as a Guest of honour.

At the end of the fourth Round: In the Open section Aravind K of Thiruvallur was lead the table with 4 solid victories out of possible four. A Draw with Jayakumar of Chennai makes his lead share with Hemanth Raam of Chennai.

In the sixth round the Chennai Player Hemanth Raam outplayed the tiruvallur player Aravind K, and took the lead with 5.5 points. In the 7th round Tharun V Kanth ( Chennai ) defeated Hemanth Raam and took the lead with 6 Points. But in the 8th Round Tharun V Kanth of Chennai defeated by Bharth Kalyan of Tiruvarur, the lead was shared by Jayakumar and Bharath Kalyan  with 6.5 each . In the 9th round Jayakumar had a quick victory over Tharun V Kanth and Make his score 7.5 out of 9 rounds. In the second board Bharath Kalyan M of Tiruvarur defeated the Chennai Player S Kumar in neat way. he scored 7.5 points out of 9 rounds. With a better Tie break, JayaKumar of Chenni became the 46th Junior Open FIDE Rated Champion of the year 2017.

In the Girls Section: At the end of the fifth round the Coimbatore K Priyanka outplayed Lakshmi C of Chennai and Priyanka K took the lead with 5 Points out of possible 5 round. In the sixth round Divya Lakshmi R of Chennai defeat the overnight leader K Priyanka and hence the leading was shared by five players namely Divya Lakshmi R(Chennai), Harivardhini. I (Thiruvallur), Priyanka K (Coimbatore) , WFM Lakshmi C (Chennai) and the other end of Tamil Nadu player Parkavi S (Kanyakumari). At  the end of 8th Round K Priyanka of Coimbatore and C Lakshmi of Chennai were leading the tables with 6.5 Points each. In the ninth round K Priyanka of Coimbatore had a easy victory over Indulekha K S of Salem, by this victory she increase her score to 7.5 from possible 9 rounds and won the 31st Tamil Nadu State Girls Under 19 Champion of the year 2017.

Mr Govinda Rajalu, President NDCA Preside over the function Mr K.Arun Kumar Treasurer NDCA welcomed the Gathering, Mr V.Natarajan, General Manager ONGC Karaikal distributed the prizes to the winners of the tournament at the Augustus present of Mr. S.Sahul Hameed, President, Indian Chamber of Commerce and Industries, Govinda Rajalu, President NDCA gave felicitation address Mr Kannan RTO, and Mr. M.R.Rajagopal, Mura Javulis & Readymades, S.Paramesvaran, Secretary, EGS Pillay Group of Institutions and R.K.Balagunashekaran. Rtn. SP.Akilan, Secretary, NDCA delivered the Vote of Thanks.

Final rankings

Junior Open – Top 10 Winners

1) Jayakumaar S, Chennai (7,5); 2) Barath Kalyan M, Thiruvarur (7,5); 3) Bharath Subramaniyam H, Chennai (7,0); 4) Kamalanathan R, Nagapattinam    (6,5); 5) Hemanth Raam, Chennai (6,0); 6) Tarun V Kanth, Chennai (6,0); 7) Kumar S, Chennai (6,0); 8) Aravind K, Thiruvallur (6,0); 9) Girinath B S, Madurai (6,0); 10) Godson Merlin E, Kanyakumari (6,0).

 Junior Girls – Top 10 Winners

1) Priyanka K, Coimbatore (7,5); 2) Lakshmi C , Chennai(7,0); 3) Varsha C R,Kanchipuram (7,0); 4) Harivardhini I, Thiruvallur (6,5); 5)Bharkavi S, KanyaKumari (6,5); 6) Indulekha K S, Salem (6,0); 7) Sunyuktha C M N, Kanchipuram (6,0); 8) Swarnamala B, Kanchipuram (6,0); 9) Senthamizh, Yazhini S, Vellore (6,0), 10) Divya Lakshmi R, Chennai (5,5)