30th Tamil Nadu State Under-11 Open & Girls Chess Championship

CM Nikhil Magizhnan of Tiruvallur & Yashavishree N of Chennai won the 30th Tamil Nadu State Under-11 Chess Championship 2017 @ Gobichettipalayam

The 30th Tamil Nadu State Under-11 Chess Championship (FIDE rated) for Open & Girls was held at Shree Gurukulam Higher Secondary School, Gobichettipalayam, Erode from 28th April to 2nd May 2017 for Shree Gurukulam & Amaze Chess Academy Trophies.

Around 360 players participated in this event, out of them 228 in open category and 132 in girls category were participated from various districts of Tamil Nadu.

In the Open section, top seed CM Nikhil Magizhnan of Tiruvallur drew his final game with Harsh Suresh of Chennai and clinch the title with 8 points. Arnav Maheswarri of Tiruvallur and Harsh Suresh of Chennai both scored 7.5 points came 2nd & 3rd respectively.

In the Girls section, 12th seed Tejaswi of Coimbatore has an outright chance of winning the title if she won against Riya Shannon of KKI in the 2nd board.  But she only manage drew with Riya.  So, the 3rd seed Yashavishree N of Chennai drew her game with Sindhusree K of Kanchi and easily clinch the Girls title with 8 points. Darsana M S of Erode, Tejaswi R of Coimbatore & Sindhusree K of Kanchi all scored 7.5 points and came 2nd, 3rd& 4th respectively.

Chief Guest of the prize distribution function Dr. R. Rangaraj, Chairman/Principal of Shree Gurukulam HSS distributed the prizes to the winners. Other Dignitaries present on the dais were (From left to right) Mr. Thangavel/Treasurer, Shree Gurukulam HSS, Mr. Palanivel/Commissioner, Gobi Municipality, Dr. SartharBassa/EC Member, EDCC, the Chief Guest, Dr. Elangovan/Secretary, Shree Gurukulam HSS, Mr. R. Ravikumar / Chief Arbiter, Dr. S. Ramesh, Secretary/EDCC, the Title Winners, Mr. B. Shankar Govindaraj/Correspondent, Amaze Academy (President-Gobi Taluk Chess Assn. and Mr. Siddayyan/Jt. Secy./EDCC

I thank Mr. Hariharan, Genl. Secy., TNSCA for giving me the wonderful opportunity to work as a Chief Arbiter in this Championship.

Prize Winners  – OPEN

Rank Name Club Pts
1 Nikhil Magizhnan TLR 8
2 ArnavMaheshwari TLR
3 Harsh Suresh CHE
4 Vinay R Jumani CHE
5 ThrishKarthik CHE 7
6 Ilamparthi A R KAN 7
7 Harshad S CBE 7
8 Roshan S ERO 7
9 Nandish V S CBE 7
10 Sivan S Roshan CHE 7

Prize Winners  – GIRLS

Rank Name Club Pts
1 Yashavishree N CHE 8
2 Darsana M S ERO
3 Tejaswi R CBE
4 Sindhusree K KAN
5 SubashreeRanganathan CHE 7
6 SruthiNaya B CBE 7
7 MeenatchiRajam V MDU 7
8 Reena K P KKI 7
9 Srinidhi M KAN
10 Riya Shannon S KKI