30th National U-11 Open & Girls Chess Championship 2016

Our TN players dominated the 30th National U-11 Chess Championship 2016. On the open section your TN boys topped first four places letting no other state in the top. The upcoming shining star Manish Anto Cristiano F Clinched the 30th National U-11 Open Chess Championship Title, Pranesh M banged the Silver and Rohith Krishna S completed the podium with bronze. Moving on to girls section Rakshitta Ravi Won Silver in 30th National U-11 Girls Chess Championship.

The Chief Arbiter was IA Ambrish C Joshi. The championship was organised by the Raipur Chess Academy under the auspices of the Raipur District and Chhattisgarh Pradesh Chess Association from 28th June to 6th July, 2016. A total 140 boys and 82 girls took part in this Championship which is the selection event to represent India in World Under-12 and Asian Under-12 in the forth coming.

In the closely fought Open section, Tamil Nadu players swept the podium with F Manish Anto Cristiano winning the title on better tie-break than team-mate M Pranesh, both scoring 9/11. Manish Anto lost to Gukesh (AP), drew Pranesh, Bharath Subramaniyam H and beat the rest. He gained 152.40 Elo points. Starting as 17th seed from this single event. 10th seed Pranesh finished second and gained 76.4 Elo points. He too lost one game, drew two and won the rest. All the 142 players suffered at least one defeat. Top seed Raunak Sadhwani of Nagpur lost three games and finished with 7/11. In the Girls’ section, top seed Divya Deshmukh of Nagpur won the title with 10/11 by a clear one point margin. Rakshitta Ravi took second place with nine points. In this section too all players suffered atleast one defeat. But Divya and Rakshitta pulled ahead of the rest of the players. Divya beat Rakshitta and lost to N Satwika.

Final placing (tie-break order)

Open: 1-2. F Manish Anto Cristiano (TN), M Pranesh (TN) 9/11 each; 3-6. S Rohith Krishna (TN), V Pranav (TN), Sreeshwan Maralakshikari (Tel), Mahitosh Dey (Odi) 8.5 each; 7-10. L.R. Srihari (TN), Harshit Ranjan Sahu (Odi), Bharath Subramaniyam H (TN), Samip Roy (WB) 8 each.

Girls: 1 Divya Deshmukh (Mah) 10/11; 2 Rakshitta Ravi (TN) 9; 3-5. Bhagyashree Patil (Mah), Kriti Mayur Patel (Mah), Dhyana Patel (Guj) 8 each; 6-9. N Satwicka (AP), Alaina Vincent (Mah), Chinnam Vyshnavi (AP), C Tina (TN) 7.5 each; 10. S Vijayasubasri (TN) 7.