20th Tamil Nadu State Rapid Open Chess Championship 2016

Surendran N of Chennai won the 20th Tamil Nadu State Rapid Open Chess Championship, organized by Pudukkottai District Chess Association. The 2 days state rapid event attracted 101 entries from 18 districts was held on 19th & 20th November at S.F.S Higher secondary School, Pudukkottai

Many top players like Former National Rapid Champion Ram S Krishnan, Former National U-17 Champion P Saravana Krishnan, Defending State rapid Champion N Lokesh, 3 times U-17 Champion S S Manigandan, & former Rapid Champion Sa Kannan participated in this event.

Five players were leading the tournament at the end of fourth round, in the fifth round Ram S Krishnan & Lokesh jointly lead the tournament. Clash between the leaders in the sixth round ended in a draw, but still they maintained the lead by half a point. Ram S Krishnan beat sibi vishal of Namakkal & Lokesh beat Uma Maheswaran of Madurai in the seventh round maintained their lead in the event.

Lokesh went onto the lead by winning his game against Sa Kannan of Sivagangai, while the other leader lost his game to Saravana Krishnan. In the final round clash, Saravana beat the leader lokesh to finish joint first with surendran who won against Uma Maheswaran. The better tiebreak score favoured Surendran to lift the trophy & cash award of Rs. 5000/- where Saravana Krishnan settled down for the second place.

Prizes were distributed by Mr. Thangam Moorthy, National Best Teacher Awardee, other guests present on the dais were Mr. Ravichandran, Secretary, Palace City Rotary Club, Mr. Muthusamy, Asst. Governor, Rotary District 3000, Dr. M. Karuppiah, President, Palace City Rotary Club, Rev. Father Vincent, Vice Principal. SFS Matric Hr Sec School, Mr M Dhanapal, President, Pudukkottai District Chess Association, Mr.Jayraman, Treasurer, Pudukkottai District Chess Association. Mr. Ganesan, Secretary, Pudukkottai District Chess Association delivered the vote of thanks.