11th Modern School International Rating Chess Championship


The 11th Modern School International FIDE Rating Chess Championship for School students was held at Modern Senior Secondary School from 03rd to 06th August 2018 for a prize pool of Rs.1,50, 000/- This Rating Chess Championship was organized by Modern Senior Secondary School at “Sankara Hall, Modern Senior Secondary School, AG’S colony, Nanganallur, Chennai-61. Main sponsor for this event was Modern Senior Secondary School, Chennai.  This event was attracted 320 participants from various States out of which 130 players where International FIDE rated. This was the 11th time the School students Tournament being organized as a FIDE Rated event in Tamil Nadu and this event conducted as 8 round Swiss format. Prof  S.Veeraraghavan, Former Principal, DG Vaishnav College  inaugurated the  event on 03rd August 2018 in the presence of Shri Pattabiraman, Secretary,

Two players Gokulraj and Kishorekumar Jaganathan maintained their lead in the top spot with 6 points each at the end of the sixth round. Three players Dhanuush Ragav, Vignesh B and Rathina Sabapathy were closely behind the leaders with 5.5points each.  In the seventh and penultimate round Gokul Raj defeated overnight joint leader Kishore kumar in an interesting middle game and jumped in to sole lead with 7points at the end of the seventh round.  Dhanush Ragav and Rathina Sabapathy were on second spot with 6.5points each. In the final round battle overnight leader Gokulraj K of Velammal School was held to a draw by top seeded Dhanush Raghav of Dindigul. Kishore Kumar and Ratna Sabapathy drew the game in second table and Rathina Sabapathy finished second place with a better Tie break. Four players Rathina Sabapathy, Dhanush Ragav, Ragul Saro and Aaditya were scored 7points each and finished second to fifth respectively.

Winner Gokul Raj K received cash prize of Rs25000 and a Trophy. Rathina Sabapathy got runner up title and received Rs18000 cash prize. Dhanush Ragav bagged the third prize and got Rs12000.

On the Prize giving ceremony Dr Mohana, Principal, Modern Senior Secondary School welcomed the gathering, Grandmaster N. Srinath was the Chief Guest and distributed the prizes to the winners on 8th August2018.