‎Rotary 100 Years Celebration All India FIDE Rated Chess Tournament

Mr.R K Sabarish from Trichy, Tamil Nadu won the title in the ‎Rotary 100 Years Celebration All India FIDE Rated Chess Tournament, he was the sole leader securing 6.5/7 Points.The ‎‎Rotary 100 Years Celebration All India FIDE Rated Chess Tournamentwas held at SBA Matric Hr. Sec. School, Mannargudi from 24th to 27th September 2019, organized by Tiruvarur District Chess Association.

Inauguration by making the first move

Rtn. Major Donar Er N.Manimaran, District Governor-RI Dist 2981 inaugurated the tournament by making the first move with Jayadev R Balan and Kamali, SGFI Gold Medalist players of Tiruvarur District; in the presence of President, Secretary & members of Rotary Club of Mannargudi, Rotary club of Maddukur, Rotary club of Mannai Green city, Rotary club of Adirampattinam, Rotary club of Mannargudi Mid-Town, Tiruvarur District Chess Association and Mannargudi Taluk Chess Association.

Entry fee of the tournament was Rs.250/- added additional beauty to the tournament. In this prestigious event total 286 Players from 2 States participated,  in that 63 players were FIDE rated players, the top seed of the event was Mr. T. Shyam Sundar from Thanjavur of Tamil Nadu.

Upto the final round it is very hard to predict the winner, even though Mr. Manikanda Prabhu B V of Tamilnadu had slight advantage of better tie break score in the penultimate round; in the final round Mr. T Shyam Sundar and Ms. S Annapurani of Tamilnadu played in the top board and shared the points, in the second board Mr. R K Sabarish of Tamilnadu beats Mr. Raghavendra Subarmani of Tamilnadu and in the third board Mr.Maniknda Prabhu and Mr.Dhinesh Kannan of Tamilnadu Shared the points, all played with 5/5 points, Mr. R K Sabrish victory in second board fetches him the prestigious Title and Wonderful Cup followed by Mr. B V Maniknda Prabhu, Mr. T Shyamsundar, Mr.Dhinesh Kannan Mr. T Srithar, Mr. T Kaviyarasan and Ms. S Annapuraiall with 6.0 points and placed respectively as per their tie break score.

The Organisers sponsored lunch for all players and parents for all days, they also encouraged all Under 08 and Under 10 Players by giving Prize to all of them.

In the prize distribution function, 27th September 2019, Mr.P Ramesh, President Rotary Club of Mannrgudi Midtown, presided over the function, Rotary Club of Mannargudi Secretary Mr. V. Sankar, welcomed the gathering, Mr. M Senthilkumar Assistant Governor gave away of the prizes to the prize winners in the presence of Mr. D Jayakumar, Zone Secretary and coordinator, Presidents of Rotary Clubs Mr.G Karthikeyan, Mr. S Rajmohan, Mr. D Palanivel, and Mr. N Santha Kumar, President Tiruvarur District Chess Association, Mr. P.Palaniappan IA, Chief Arbiter of this event and all the Tiruvarur District and Mannargudi Taluk Members. Mr. RK Balagunasekharan, Secretary, Tiruvarur District Chess Association and Jt. Secretary, TNSCA gave the Vote of Thanks.

Category Top Three Winners are as follows:

U-15 Boys
Prize Rank Name Club Pts
1 7 Nishanth Prabhakaran PDU 6
2 8 Karthick Bala G CUD 6
3 12 Raghavendra Venkatasubramani TRY
U-15 Girls
Prize Rank Name Club Pts
1 17 Sivasri S MDU
2 19 Swetha J TRY
3 31 Sarumathi S VEL 5
U-12 Boys
Prize Rank Name Club Pts
1 13 Srihari Satheeswaran TRY
2 22 Mohana Surya V TVM 5
3 23 SarveshAadityaa R CBE 5
U-12 Girls
Prize Rank Name Club Pts
1 10 Priyanjana V ARY 6
2 11 Mridubashini S S TRY 6
3 20 Harsha Y TRY
U-10 Boys
Prize Rank Name Club Pts
1 33 Surya V TNJ 5
2 36 Prabakaran S PDU 5
3 47 Anish H TRY 5
U-10 Girls
Prize Rank Name Club Pts
1 48 Vishwabharathi Sakthivel TVLR 5
2 49 VidulaAnbuselvan TRY 5
3 92 Jayadharshini R TVRR 4
U-08 Boys
Prize Rank Name Club Pts
1 69 Sarvesh G TRY
2 97 Meiyappan M CBE 4
3 101 TarunTapaan Shashikumar Pillay TNJ 4
U-8 Girls
Prize Rank Name Club Pts
1 102 Sakana S TNJ 4
2 166 Miruthulaa S A TPR 3
3 182 Shiva Mahima S N TVRR 3